RSS

Blinklist

13 Sep


With too many social bookmarking sites in the picture the Web 2.0 audience is certainly bewildered. Perhaps I can only speak for myself yet I presume people would agree with me on this. I was storing my favorite links in my Firefox Bookmarks folder to begin with. Soon I discovered that I wanted to share them with people who might be interested in them and then I signed up for an account with blogmarks.net
The interface was cool no doubt and it allowed opml export and import. It allows you to import from del.icio.us or an atom feed but no browser import. I managed to import all my browser bookmarks after considerable struggle. It was quite frustrating I should say. By that time I had lost interest in that site. Navigation back and forth was even worse. Once I was on a page I did not know how to go back to where I came from. It was all very hilarious.

After this I signed up at Furl
I should say I liked furl a lot. It allowed me to mark pages and stored a copy of them irrespective of changes on the page itself. In other words it was like a cache. It also provided me with a Furl firefox extension to mark the pages I visited, to visit my archived pages and to mail the pages to my friends.

However, I was still looking for a site that would store all my bookmarks in one place that was easy to navigate through and to retrieve information from.

This was when I discovered Blinklist. Blinklist has a very neat interface that is user-friendly and is pimped with AJAX left, right and centre. It is quite thrilling to navigate through that site. It is full of pleasant surprises. The signup process was interesting. After logging me in, it offered to import bookmarks from my browser. I had to point to the html file that stored all my links and voila they were imported in no time at all. Now it had yet another surprise for me – The “Import from Furl” option. I did that too. After this I realized I had an opml file full of links from my feed reader, which I had to import. I wondered initially and then found a neat method to do it. I imported the opml into my browser bookmarks and exported it as html. Then I uploaded it to blinklist again. Now I had some links on del.icio.us and guess what.. yeah you’re right.. blinklist imports from del.icio.us too. So there they were .. my links all in one place. Neat and tidy.

If you thought the excitement ended there, then you’re mistaken. There was somebody visiting my profile and sending me messages through live chat. It was superb.

Then I could export all my links as a tag cloud to my blog.

Then there was an extensive search tool with tag prompts, like google suggest with which I dug through the entire world of blinklist links.

I also got a bookmarklet for my browser with which to blink sites as soon as they caught my attention.

Overall,all my votes go to blinklist, for user-friendliness, an intuitive browsing atmosphere and a set of great tools to make life easy.

Here is my blinklist: Risenphoenix

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2006 in Reviews

 

13 responses to “Blinklist

  1. Mario

    September 15, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    Excellent article. Please can you explain how you convert an OPLML file to HTML.

     
  2. Phoenix

    September 16, 2006 at 1:33 am

    Hi

    Welcome to my blog.

    I think you can do it only if you have firefox.

    Install this firefox extension called OPML support.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/2625/

    It allows you to import and export OPMLfiles into your browser’s bookmarks manager.

    After you have imported all the links into your browser’s bookmark manager, you export them. When you export them, it automatically creates a html file. All other methods to convert opml to html are more complicated than this. This is by far the best method I can think of. 🙂

    I wish blinklist enabled opml import and export soon.

    Thanks for dropping by. Have a good day!

     
  3. idpt0000

    September 20, 2006 at 1:28 pm

    Has you used del.icio.us ?

    I am thinking of migrating to other social bookmark service. And I would like know more about the differenc of del.ico.us against other products …..

     
  4. Phoenix

    September 20, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    Hi idpt
    Welcome to my blog. 🙂

    Interestingly enough Read/write web had a recent article comparing different social bookmarking services.

    http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/social_bookmarking_faceoff.php

    See this article and tell me if it helped. 🙂

    However, personally I did not like del.icio.us so much. That is my personal opinion, though!

     
  5. idpt0000

    September 23, 2006 at 12:01 am

    Thanks a lot. Do you use any online RSS reader? I was using bloglines, but it didn’t provide tag search … and I can’t navigator my subscription for a particular topic … Any suggestion?

     
  6. Phoenix

    September 23, 2006 at 1:22 am

    Hi I use http://www.netvibes.com to read feeds and I am quite comfortable with that. You can separate your feeds under different tabs and keep them for easy retrieval. However if you require tag functionality I think http://www.rojo.com is the best! 🙂

     
  7. shravan

    September 24, 2006 at 1:28 pm

    live.com and google personal page look a little better but netvibes seems to be more configurable.

     
  8. Phoenix

    October 5, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    idpt2000.. google reader has also added rss tags functionality. http://reader.google.com 🙂

     
  9. Mike

    October 25, 2006 at 2:50 pm

    Thanks for the great review of BlinkList! We love to find our community members writing about us. That is what keeps us motivated and working late into the nights on making BlinkList better and better.

    If you have any more ideas and suggestions on how to make BlinkList even better please do let us know.

    Mike

     
  10. Phoenix

    October 25, 2006 at 3:21 pm

    Sure Mike and thanks for the positive comments! 🙂

     
  11. Astorg

    November 27, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    The main way in which Blinklist, which I have been using happily since January, could do to make me morte comfortable with staying with them would be… to give me a way of going away with all my bookmarks in an easily usable form, should I one day wish to do so (and, again, this is NOT the case at present).

    Exporting to OPML would achieve that. I can understand that social bookmarking sites are reluctant to see people go, but Blinklist has now achieved sufficient recognition of its quality (this is distinctly perceptible everywhere) not to have to fear that. In fact the knowledge that they will be able to leave may well attract a large number of new subscribers…

     
  12. Мониторинг Интернета

    December 1, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Thank you for interesting article!

     

Leave a Reply

 
